Shoot first, scold later

Chris: Mom, can I have a water bottle?

Me: To take outside?

Chris: Yes. We’re thirsty.

Me: No, Chris… I told you. No mud. You can drink water inside.

Chris: Awwwwuh!

*****

Will: Mom, can I have some water?

Me: Inside.

Will: Ugh.

*****

Cooper (kids’ friend): Can I please have a drink of water?

Me: Inside.

Despite my best efforts, they found a bucket…

Or two.

I zipped my lips, went back for my camera and got a couple of good shots before stripping them and throwing them in the shower. Then we all settled in for a nice long talk.

There has been no mud since.

One response to “Shoot first, scold later

  1. I LOVED THIS POST!!!!! If I ever come over to your house, I’m bringing water and wearing my oldest clothes and you can go inside and write or go shopping or something!

Leave a Reply

